Penalties Increased Under Move-Over LawJul 22 2023
Penalties have been increased under the Texas Move-Over Law. Under HB 898, which becomes effective on 09/01/22, penalties increase as follows:
- A Class C misdemeanor carrying a possible fine between $500-$1,250.
- Subsequent violations would carry enhanced fines between $1,000-$2,000.
- A violation causing serious bodily injury would be enhanced from a Class B misdemeanor to a Class A misdemeanor, which carries a possible punishment of a year in county jail and a fine up to $4,000.
- Subsequent violations causing serious bodily injury would enhance the penalty to a state jail felony, which carries a possible punishment of up to 2 years in a state jail and a fine of up to $10,000.
- Additional enhancements under the Texas Penal Code may occur based on the circumstances of the violation.